Groaning Cake * Kimbly * Birthing bread

I heard about this bread during my first pregnancy but never came across a recipe. The summer before I was pregnant with my second baby I read Amy McKay’s Birth House which has a recipe for Kimbly at the back. I have since seen a few other recipes and made a few versions. This is my favorite. To distract myself from early labour with baby number two I made the recipe below and it was my favorite thing to eat in the days following. Although, if I remember correctly, either my mother-in-law (or my partner) ended up being the one to pull my Kimbly from the oven…
The loaves turn out a deep rich brown full of salburiousness.
I like to package the wet & dry ingredients in in their own jars and give it to very expectant parents as a pre-baby gift for mom.

image

(jar 1)
2 1/2 c flour
1 c + 3Tb cups sugar
1/4 c dried cranberries
8 dried apricots, diced
1/4 c raisins
2/3 c granola
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves

(jar 2)
1 1/2 cups apple, peeled and grated
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 oranges, juiced (about 1/2 c)
1/4 molasses
2 Tb maple syrup
(1 Tb brandy)
1 tsp vanilla extract

3 eggs

Preheat oven to 350
Whip 3 eggs until foamy
Stir in jar 2
Add jar 1 a little at a time till well combined.
Pour in to 2 greased loaf pans.
Bake 35-40 min (until tester comes out clean)

Leave a Reply

