best chicken pot pie

image

Herb and cheddar flaky pastry crust filled with carrot, celery, onion, new potato, & shredded chicken in a bechamel sauce.
A hit with everyone in the house from largest to smallest .

Ive never loved pot pie. I like it. It reminds me of childhood, but the flavours always seemed too…well …muddy. Everytime¬† I have one it would taste a lot like one flavour (salt, or one seasoning) and not enough like the several ingredients i knew went into making it. Vegetables were mush beshamel heavy- crust soggy and messy to eat as it would inevitably ooze around my plate. It just seemed like a waste of some of my favorite comfort foods.
Until I tried Thomas Keller’s Chicken Potpie. Perfectly seasoned. No mush. And the filling stays in the pie.
I altered the pastry to be flavoured with cheese and garden herbs.

Leave a Reply

