Hunting Leg Warmers

No really, blaze orange leg warmers. Knit up with cascade 220 super wash
image

image

image

The next step is to knit up matching hats, for the whole family–safety first;) and maybe some wrist warmers too (fingerless hunting gloves?)
I like this idea ( http://knittingmixtapes.wordpress.com/category/finished-objects/)
Hopefully all will be complete before my annual October birding trip. The idea was for this project is to help me learn cable knitting (and how to read a chart….you can see that I didn’t totally follow my chart and there are a few mistakes but the legwarmers are for me so I’ll live with the mistakes and let them remind me that I am steadily improving and try not to think about ripping them out.
I read this blog post with great interest and found it really helpful for understanding cable: http://eunnyjang.com/knit/2005/11/technickety_how_to_unvent_a_si.html
My leg warmer pattern was based loosely on the “Duchess” pattern on ravelry.
I love the look of the Twizz set pattern for the hat and gloves (http://throughtheloops.typepad.com/through_the_loops/2012/08/twizz-hat-mitts.html) but I might start with something a little easier till I am more comfortable with the cable…i still cant predict how a pattern will look just by reading the stitches, which means that I can’t alter the pattern so no customizing…which is kind of my thing.
oh well, maybe by the time i finish the hats i will have figured it out.

Leave a Reply

