Seasonal fruit: Yellow Plum Clafoutis

This week I was given a basket of yellow plums. ❤
image
As a kid I spent hours sitting in the top of a yellow plum tree. I would sit and watch and eat the tiny sweet plums with their tart skin.
The tree was cut down before I went to high school and I dont think I saw another yellow plum for years.
This recipe is an ode to my childhood…
The cast iron pan was my grandmothers, the batter reminds me of the crepes my dad (and later my siblings and I made iurselves) weekly, and of course the plums.
Yellow Plum Clafoutis
3 eggs
2/3 cup milk
1/3 cup heavy cream
2 Tb maple syrup
1/4 cup butter
1 Tb brandy
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ cup + 1 Tb sugar, divided
1/3 cup flour
8-10 small yellow plums, halved and pitted

Wash, halve and pit 8 -10  yellow plums.
In a 8″ cast iron skillet
Melt butter, pour off 3Tb leave remaining in pan and sprinkle 1Tb of sugar warm butter and sugar over moderate heat with 1 Tb syrup until sugar melts. Place plums cut side down in warm sugar syrup. Continue to warm over low heat.
Preheat oven to 375.
Meanwhile whip together eggs milk and cream. Add vanilla and brandy and 1 Tb syrup and sugar. Slowly add flour. Whip until there are no lumps.
Pour batter over plums in pan.
Place in heated oven.
Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until the batter is set around the edges and just slightly wobbly in the middle. Let cool for 10-15 minutes then serve.

Recipe modified from:
Read more: http://www.crumbblog.com/2010/07/little-miss-sunshine-yellow-plum.html#ixzz3lUQjOOd5

Leave a Reply

