Luke Skywalker Costume, ROTJ

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Return of the Jedi Luke Skywalker

Elements:
Pleated vest
Obi (wide belt)
Black shirt with mandarin collar and fold down ‘bib’

Supplies:
Ladies black collared button up shirt
10″ square white fabric
1.5 m dark grey fabric
2 slip closures
1 lg snap
1 sm snap

Process:
SHIRT:
I removed the collar from the shirt,  turned it inside out rounded the the edges, steamed, and topstitched before reattaching.
I cut off the sleeves of the shirt where they measured just above the wrist, I similarly removed the cuffs, rounded the edges and reattached.
I removed all the buttons reversed the closure so the button holes were in behind and sewed up from the bottom to the midpoint os the stirt.
I removed extra fabric from the lower portion of the women’s shirt, re-hemmed the shirt, and used the removed fabric to create 10 inch square for the bib
I sandwiched my 10 inch white square with my 10 inch black square right sides together, sewn all the way around with a quarter inch seam allowance.
I then turnedsteamed, topstitched,  and placed on the upper half of the shirt front, about 2″ down from the collar. Pinned in place, I sewed along one side across the bottom, and up about 1/2 way on the other side of the square.
I put a tiny snap closure on the corner of the open flap and on the shoulder of the shirt ( matching corner of the bib).
The large snap went at the top of the shirt just below the mandarin collar.

Leave a Reply

