Plotting…

image

I started imagining my food gardens in the deep dark cold winter. But my planning didnt begin in ernest until April when I started sketching out what would be planted in each of the 3 plots I was imagining.
I knew it would be companion plantings, and that I might be able to extend our growing season and get two or more crops if i started early, utilized permaculture, and stuck to a schedule.
I wanted to focus on some of my favourite flavours AND make space for a few edible perrenials.
Here is what I came up with:

Perennials including rhubarb and asparagus, and a closely watched horseradish.

image

These ancient companions work together to maintain healthy nutrient-rich soil.
image
Things that grow together go together, delicious growing allies.
image
An underplanting of helpful herbs and flowers naturally repel harmful insects, support healthy tree roots, and hold moisture.
image

Sowing leafy greens in a rotation of pots will keep the fresh greens coming for as long as possible.
image
The herbs will get moved inside once the cold weather sets in, and each herb’s seeds will be saved for next year.
image

image

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

